Bobs Wood Shop

TV Wood worker Thomas J. MacDonald

Who is Thomas J. MacDonald? I won’t fill this blog with a bunch of cut and paste from other informational sources. So if you want his back ground, which is quite impressive, you can read about him in this link or just GOOGLE it. http://www.thomasjmacdonald.com/abouttommy.php what we will talk about here and now is “Who is Tommy Mac the wood working entertainer” and why is he so popular to the wood working community Let me say for the record I respect and admire Mr. MacDonald both as an individual and as a fine wood worker his work is some of the best I have ever seen. I was fortunate to have met Tommy at one of the wood working shows I attended and spent some one on one time with him. I sensed a genuine caring about what he does I believe he truly cares about sharing his knowledge and teaching. If you have ever watched him on PBS or seen his earlier videos on YouTube you may say he goes fast, or that he talks to fast but when I observe him (I had been struggling with being able to turn a curl on a card scraper) during that time he was not only very focused on what he was showing me but he was searching to see if he was being understood which lends to his magnetic personality.

So that’s all the good things I can say about Tommy. Let’s look at some of the things most people do not see or think about (maybe Tommy himself). We have already established that he is a Master Craftsmen “anyone that can sell their work for hundreds of thousands of dollars for one piece falls into that category in my opinion”. So why take time from his craft to do PBS shows? And we are talking a lot of time. I think everyone knows that in order to grow and improve your skill you must work at it and I don’t mean making picture frames or boxes. You have to keep pushing the envelope and evolving. It is of my opinion he will need to get back into the workshop at some point soon maybe after the newness is gone from being on TV or being a spokesperson for large corporations I think at some point he will not want to extend his contracts having made enough money to step back and start building works of art once again or offering classes in his shop.

So what’s your opinion on this? Leave a comment.

August 17, 2012 - Posted by | Digital Wood Workers

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Good news, life does get better

Hi, lets discuss what getting better means and how to get back to being happy.

50/60 Plus

Enjoy the Fun and sign up to see what we are about.

Words Mean Things

"With regard to excellence, it is not enough to know, but we must try to have and use it." - Aristotle

